Right ive bought a snap on 130 turbo mig welder.

Picked up a 10litre 95/5 argon/co2 bottle yesterday.ordered a regulator.

And have 0.6 wire. 

Is that a decent set up for car body work etc. 

I'm new to welding and have read a bit on the net.the above is what I've read is the way to go.

I'm wanting to weld a few holes in a 4x4 and make a dog guard for the jeep.

The amp power and wire speed etc.

It's a lot to learn.

Any tips or videos etc to watch.

Cheers king..

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I try to avoid buying 4x4s that need welding doing they have a habit of making you chase your tail ? Better off paying a little extra for something solid saves a lot of time and heartache. W

I’m no expert but just talking from personal experience use the mig for the cars then get a cheap arc for when your going to start on structural stuff with heavier gauge steel ?

Just get some bits of scrap and play around all sets have there own quirks and if using an extension lead make sure it’s fully unrolled or it will melt there you go your off oh and get a 4” grinder to

Posted Images

Snap on, good make, pricey but should last a life time.

It's like everything else, practice, practice, practice, it shouldn't take you long to get the hang of it, it's easier than arc welding. 

Atb j 

• Like 1

Just get some bits of scrap and play around all sets have there own quirks and if using an extension lead make sure it’s fully unrolled or it will melt there you go your off oh and get a 4” grinder to tidy up your first shit welds which I’m sure you’ll get ✌️✌️

• Like 3
4 minutes ago, Greyman said:

Just get some bits of scrap and play around all sets have there own quirks and if using an extension lead make sure it’s fully unrolled or it will melt there you go your off oh and get a 4” grinder to tidy up your first shit welds which I’m sure you’ll get ✌️✌️