Substituting Saluki Blood For Greyhound Blood.

All the main lurcher types depend on greyhound blood. Maybe this is because greyhound bitches and dogs are easily available. But now that good saluki blood is becoming available, do you think more breeders should experiment with collie/saluki, bull/saluki, beddie/saluki, deerhound /saluki etc.

I have no experience with salukis at all, but the best ones I've seen on video put a coursing greyhound to shame. They run in a far more relaxed, almost thoughtful way.

I'm told they can lighten the frame of lurchers better than a greyhound too. So that, for example there would be less cloddy pups produced from the likes of bull/saluki and gsd/saluki.

What do you think?

• Replies 150
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

The greyhound is one of the fastest animals on the planet. This is why people use them for dog racing. People are fascinated with speed, whether that's greyhounds, horses, cheetahs or Usain Bolt. Spee

If I had a bitch that lacked speed would I breed it to a greyhound?...... No! If I had a bitch that lacked stamina would I breed it to a saluki?...... No!   If I had a bitch that lacked any one of

The dogs that are killing good hares on the big land, generally, can catch them anywhere......they're going to have the speed and the coursing brain for sure...... The average lurcher ain't going to

I think that the saluki lines here in uk needs to be improved by breeding from only proven quality stock that has done the job on all kinds of game and terrain for a number of hard seasons, once a UK bred saluki line produces some top dogs and bitches then and only then look a various crosses if needed but the way the running game is now is the demand going to be there in 10 years time for a line bred running dog, some will run for life but unless youngsters are taught and encouraged the demise of the quality dog is visible on the horizen in the uk.