Injuries/collisions.... does and donts

Evening lads / lasses 

im pretty new to owning and working a runner . Would be really interested to hear from the experienced on here your thoughts on preventing injuries/collisions .  I accept a lot of it is just common sense  avoiding frozen/baked ground, trailers etc left out in fields stuff like that. An I suppose with the rough an tumble of working , injuries can never be totally avoided an come down to bad luck.  

But u carnt beat experience... would love to hear ur thoughts , any advice much appreciated ???

• Like 2

Lamping is the number one killer of dogs.. I’ve lost 3 on the lamp. Depends where you live though and what your hunting. Dykes/hares/deer and your lucky to have a dog reach old age. 
also, more than one dog chasing can lead to accidents, either colliding with each other, or hitting obstacles on the run, as they have one eye on the other dog, as well as what’s in front. 

• Like 6

Like you say injuries can't be avoided. Get pups out and about from a young age, across all sorts of ground etc and get them jumping clean, and ?

Edited by Gilbey
Yeah should of said before they get any speed?
  • Like 2

Get your pup out and about on all and every ground and obstacle you can … better it learns how to avoid things when it’s running at 3 mph rather than 30mph …….

• Like 13
15 minutes ago, moonlighter said:

Lamping is the number one killer of dogs.. I’ve lost 3 on the lamp. Depends where you live though and what your hunting. Dykes/hares/deer and your lucky to have a dog reach old age. 
also, more than one dog chasing can lead to accidents, either colliding with each other, or hitting obstacles on the run, as they have one eye on the other dog, as well as what’s in front. 

Spot on pal, Ive lost two and there's no worse feeling than coming back without your dog, saying that, every time you slip him there's a risk so you have to have a bit of luck on your side sometimes. 

• Like 2