Rabbits alive in Snare .. ?

Im new to snaring,

so far i have gotten 6, 2 of these were alive

when you pick them up by back legs and hit at the base of the neck ... how hard do you hit? im guessing pretty hard

i sound like a sissy but .. damn .. i feel bad for about half a day or so after actually killing one (in the snare dead i dont mind)

guess i'll get desensitized to doing it..

any tips for killing them quickly? (without a gun)

Thanks in advance

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Im new to snaring,

when you pick them up by back legs and hit at the base of the neck ... how hard do you hit? im guessing pretty hard

i sound like a sissy but .. damn .. i feel bad for about half a day or so after actually killing one (in the snare dead i dont mind)

Thanks in advance

Ya let someone eles do it........

if you feel that bad fella maybe you should take up another hobbie?

Im new to snaring,

Thanks in advance

hard enough to kill it outright fella,could get yourself a priest,if you dont fancy that as said,take up another hobby,bird watching maybe lol atb

What were you doing setting snares in the first place when you dont know how to finish the job??

everyone starts somewhere

Edit:

But to be honest i did expect some flaming, considering this IS a hunting forum .. so that is ok

I still am wondering what the forum thinks would be the most humane way of killing a live rabbit

Thanks again in advance

Edited by New2This

do you eat them? if you think of them as food like i do you dont feel so bad. yes hit them hard on the back of the head. i use a flat hand and hit with the side of my hand. what some people call the karate chop. i hit twice just to be shore . but one hard chop and its done. remember its kinder to hit hard and get the job done than be to soft and hurt the bunny .