bit of advice wanted canaries

Im new to this iv got my self some canaries and want to try breeding them,iv got them paired up in breeding cages in a small room under my stairs there is a window witch lets in light and theres a light bulb but thats not very bright should I add a extra light to try and make it brighter, iv alo put my nest pans in yesterday have I done this far to early should I take them out, like I say im new to this so iv probably balls uped everything, id be greatful of any advice of you more experienced lads thanks HR

My canaries have got nest pans and just as important nesting material to use,they are also getting a bit extra light to help them along as they are in a outside shed now i have paired them up with a native cock each to get a round of mules out of them.This time last year i had mules eggs in the nest but this year i have just started them later,i have a low energy bulb in the shed and i just have it on a hour or so longer than sunset as such,as for ballsing it up mate we all do that and it's part of the learning curve so they say :laugh: .Good luck and keep us updated and if you feel it's to dark for your birds then try another light,it's a personal call on how bright you want it for your birds mate :thumbs:

• Like 1

thanks for the reply fm will let you know how I get on :thumbs:

what ya could with fella his a daylight bulb if there his not enough natural daylight canaries if left natural will be april may time when they go to nest , never a rush breeding in the winter mths his not a good policy . atb bunnys.
  • Like 1