Fox Tail -- Brush

Help me out please, took a great dog Fox tonight and a pal who restores and runs a few old Vespas wants a fox tail for his whip aeriel.

Strange though it may seem I've never done this before, there was a thread on here not so long ago about how to cut/peel/pepare the tail...can someone point me in the right direction...I've just had a look but can't find it..probably me being half asleep!

Many thanks

Deker

Help me out please, took a great dog Fox tonight and a pal who restores and runs a few old Vespas wants a fox tail for his whip aeriel.

Strange though it may seem I've never done this before, there was a thread on here not so long ago about how to cut/peel/pepare the tail...can someone point me in the right direction...I've just had a look but can't find it..probably me being half asleep!

Many thanks

Deker

cut around the bone then tie a piece of cord around the cut,then pull the cord and the brush comes away from the bone job done

Thanks for the help, I've just taken it off using the stick method (first thing that came to hand, if I do another I'll try the rope trick)...after a bit of initial resistance it has come off nicely.

I've filled it with salt as best as I can as I seem to recall hearing somewhere...it's hanging in my shed..how long should I leave it now?

Also noticed it has a few lumps of crud well embedded in the brush, how yould you suggest cleaning these out and do I wait until the whole thing is cured? I was thinking a soak and rince in warm soapy water but will this make the whole thing go hard and stiff?

Sorry for all the questions but having disposed of many foxes over the years this is the first I have ever removed the tail on.

Many thanks.

Deker