Retrieve Problems

Just looking for some advice, I've recently got my first lurcher, she's around 7 months, she's a rescue and I'm guessing a saluki/whippet. I've been practising retrieveing with tennis balls and dummy's. Though I have not given her any game. On two occasions she has found mankey rabbits, which she will not bring back she just runs off with them, and lays down, if I approach her she runs away. I didn't want her to think it's a chase game so I walked away, eventually she followed without the rabbit. Any advice or similar experience. I'm new to all this haha. Many thanks

Get her used to carrying things, play tug and then drop the rope and let her hold it for a bit and follow you trying to play more, then keep doing it and practice the "leave it" command and give her lots of praise if she drops it at your feet so she sees giving stuff to you as fun.if she's retrieving toys and dummies then try chucking a fairly fresh (dead :laugh: ) bunnyif you can get your hands on one, she might not bring back the ones she's found beccause the smell's getting her too excited and you just have to desensitize it and make it a normal smell for her because she''s seeing them as too high value to give to you

another thing that worked with mine is chucking something in a pond, she'd go and get it then drop it when she got out so she could shake the water off and you can take that time to take whatever you threw and praise her lots for it and it will click, good way to get them swimming aswell :D:D

Try working in a long hallway go back too basics like puppy basics you got too get the dog interested in retrieving wether it's for reward Ie a treat or a fuss like make it a game make it fun not sure how long you've had the dog but keep at it it should come good with patience