Body grip traps for mink

Guest JohnGalway

Guest JohnGalway

Hi folks,

As you are all no doubt painfully aware by now from my recent rambling I'm getting into trapping a few mink. At the moment I'm using single entry live catch cage traps. These work but I have two problems, they're on loan so they're not mine, and culling the mink is presenting it's own problem.

After a chat Snareman (top bloke as always :thumbs: )a few different types of traps have been suggested to me. One being the body grip type trap (the others were konibear (spelling?) and fenn (I have two). I'd like to try out these body grip traps as they are not out of the way price wise and will dispatch the mink for me :yes:

As I have no experience myself of using these I'm asking around for tips and advice. First thing I need to know is what size bodygrip trap is best for mink?

Second thing I would like to hear about is the settings that different people use them in. I believe that in the UK these are like fenns that they need to be set in natural or artifical tunnels. I plan to make some wooden tunnels to use them in, the mink researcher has told me that on his mink rafts they use a hole of 75mm which has kept out non target animals thus far, so I'd use one hold like that on each end of my artifical tunnel. If you have a better idea which works for you with mink please let me know :yes:

Any other useful information would be appreciated. As I am a complete green newbie to this don't think anything to be too basic :good:

Thanks all,

John :)

Edited to add, links to pictures would be helpful also, they tell a thousand words I'm led to believe.

...and is one brand better than another? I know I'll need a setter also.

Edited by JohnGalway

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi folks,