Any tips for a total noob?

Hi, i've been given three albino ferrets by a friend. I havent had any for years and my Dad did everything with the one i had. I have two hobs and a jill and the jill and the smaller hob handle ok'ish but the big hob tought me a very painfull lesson this morning, bit me down to the bone and i've lost the feeling in the end of my thumb :icon_redface: I'm not planning on working them until i'm confident they wont savage me :D

So basically does anyone have any tips for me as i need all the help i can get.

Thanks in advance.

Did this guy tell you why he was getting rid of them? Most people only get rid of problem ferrets this late in the season, was it because it kept biting him? or was there another reason. It can take a bit of time but if you get him/them uesd to you handling them you may be mildly surprised at how loyal and affectionate they can become. Start by feeding them a saucer of kitten milk and stroke them while they are feeding after a while try dipping your knuckle in the milk and letting them lick it off. A tap on the nose also works they soon work ouy that if they bite you it "hurts" them. The trouble is going to be breaking the ferrets out of the habit if they have been biting peple for six months or more its going to take time. Most of all spend time with them every day so they get used to you..... Good Luck

Hi, i've been given three albino ferrets by a friend. I havent had any for years and my Dad did everything with the one i had. I have two hobs and a jill and the jill and the smaller hob handle ok'ish but the big hob tought me a very painfull lesson this morning, bit me down to the bone and i've lost the feeling in the end of my thumb :icon_redface: I'm not planning on working them until i'm confident they wont savage me :D

So basically does anyone have any tips for me as i need all the help i can get.

Thanks in advance.