Learning to Stalk [Ayrshire, Scotland]

Good Morning, folks!

I'm an absolute novice at stalking and was looking for some tips on getting started! There's not really anyone around here that I can learn from, I'm afraid - no groups and I don't know any gamekeepers or rangers that I can pester ask to teach me! That's alright though, I have the motivation and perseverance to teach myself. 

Full disclosure, I'm a photographer rather than a regular hunter... But on the other hand, the only real difference (as far as I am aware) is how I finish a hunt!

My only worthwhile skills so far are in building a hide and sitting still for long periods of time. Useful tools - but I lack the knowledge and experience to use those tools effectively.

I've identified a few points-of-interest that I can visit on my way home from work without having to go out my way - daily exercise and commute all rolled into one! I don't want to say for certain, but I'm reasonably sure I've identified two feeding areas, a bedding area, and possibly a wallow... though it's also possible I just found a rank-smelling muddy hole with lots of hoof prints. 

The local deer are Roe; there four of them that I know of, usually traveling as a family group though I do encounter solitary deer as well - I'm unsure if they're part of the same group or not. 

My goal is to be able to get in close to deer for a few choice shots. My instinct is to practice stalking and reading trails first, which will allow me to properly site a hide, and in future, once I learn to move quietly I can also "hunt" other critters... like that grey squirrel that taunts me every day after work - it likes to skip across the road in front of me, but is terrifically shy the rest of the time!

So! How do you folks think I should proceed? Where should I start?