Bull cross lurchers (why)

Can anyone tell me what bull blood brings to a lurcher that another breed doesn,t. I am just wondering why anyone would use bull blood as opposed to say bedlington or wheaten or whatever. I am by no means an expert on bull cross dogs but i have owned one he was bred 3/4 greyhound - 1/4 bull on both sides and was a nice looking dog of about 26". However he was just not fast enough and lacked wind and that has been my experience of all the bull bred lurchers i have seen to date. so what is the attraction to them?? because they do seem quite popular. If they are bred say for larger quarry then surely the saluki cross is more than capable and more versatile. I look forward to hear from the many fans of this cross what they think gives this particular type an advantage over certain other types/crosses.

• Like 1

Obviously if someone was taking foxes regularly and needed a good strong sog the wouldnt go for a saluki. If i wanted something for rabbiting id maybe have a collie x or maybe a saluki. But i do agree bull x can be slow but it depends on the breeding as ive had half collie greyhound x bull greyhounds and can catch rabbits foxes with ease so it depends on what people like. :thumbs:

Guest bigredbusa

some may be slower but when they get there they do the biz and will give 100% , i dare say there may be a few others that could stick as much as a bullcross but there is style and there is STYLE