Pigeon Shooting, Advice Needed!!

I'm relatively new to shooting and although I got my first gun a while ago, I haven't had much chance to use it, (partly because I don't live within a farming community and therefore I don't know any farmers who give me access to their land)

Anyways, I've decided to take it upon myself to have a drive around the local area and just ask Farmers outright whether or not they want the pigeons on their fields "moving on".......This way it does them a favour by keeping their crops in tact and it does me a favour because it gets me some much needed practice!

I was wondering, if I am lucky enough to find a farmer to oblige and let me on his land and stick a few decoys out, are there any tips any of you more experienced shooters can give me? - It'll be the first time I'll be shooting on my own and I'd like to have a good go at it. Are there any fundamental things you lot think I should know / do before embarking on my own......

Cheers

First off, I envy you. You are in for a treat. Build your hide with care and attention to the fact that pigeons and crows are wily foe. Expect to missa lot and ask yourself "are these barrels bent". Be patient. Cover your hands and especially your face. You need some kit without turning into a KIT TART. Get a seat or stool but not the low fishing type. Buy Sporting Gun and read all about pigeon shooting. Is that enough for now.?

Be polite and safe. Pick up your empty's and clean up after yourself. Offer the farmer some of the choice birds afterwards. Don't cut holes out his hedges and don't be tempted by shooting at any pheasants / partridge (even if you think you'll get away with it :whistling: )