ok my two ducks each have a nest of eggs - when i first counted there were 17 in one nest and 13 in the other - and i havent bothered them since then. i figure what ever will hatch will hatch and i will deal with that later. right now i want all the ducks i can get.

So.. i am a novice with ducks. i dont know all the rules but the hens seem to have everything under control. HOWEVER... the past two weeks i have noticed eggs being taken out of the nest, to the other side of the fenced in yard, broken open and partially eaten. i thought maybe the hens were pushing the extra eggs out of the nest for what ever reason.. but i am also wondering if there isnt some critter coming in at night and stealing eggs.

i dont think its a fox... wouldnt a fox just take the whole duck and not just a random egg?

same with a possum or raccoon...? or would they wait until the hen leaves the nest to rob it?

or could it be one of the other drakes? if the hen kicks an egg out would they bother to break it? :blink:

my husband said he heard something moving in the woods on the other side of the fence when he was bringing the terrier inside. also said he would have turned her loose to sic her on the animal but didnt because he thought i would be mad at him for doing that..

anyway the ducks, i THOUGHT, were fairly secure and safe but now i'm not so sure.

i just need some info: if the hens and drakes would do this, if its somewhat normal when there are too many eggs, or if i really do need to get the bulldogs out after the animal thats bothering my eggs. the last egg that was taken had blood in it as opposed to the others that looked like normal broken eggs. so my ducklings are forming and its pissing me off they're being killed in such a way.

I had rats doing very similar to my duck eggs Blue, It wouldn't be the hens I dont think, they tend to eat on the spot if they do, and just run round with a bit of empty shell...... I think you need a night of surveylance :thumbs: