Breeding The Linnet.

Here's an article written by Jeff Hulme.

I have been breeding my strain of Linnets in pens for about 10 years now. The pen sizes that I have found give my Linnets more security are about 3' 6" wide x 3' high x 18" deep. I have also bred them in pens that are about 4' x 2' x 2'.

I line breed the Linnets, and have found that they are now becoming very steady, and are gradually improving in markings and size. The colour is still a problem and I would like to see darker birds.

Last year my Linnets went to nest earlier than ever before and I had eggs at the beginning of April. Normally it is the last week in April before they go down.

By the beginning of March I have started my conditioning programme with the Linnets. My basic mix of Beyers wild seed and Scottish budgie tonic is supplemented with a cage bird tonic. I have gradually built up the green food, using punnet's of mustard, cress and broccoli from the wholesalers, and the only wild food I use is dandelion, which I start to dig up and feed the lot, roots, soil, leaves and flowers when they eventually start appearing.

I do not give a lot of egg food or soaked seed to get them into condition but I increase the Beyers wild seed. Most of my Linnets rear mainly on the Beyers wild seed. I have never seen a captive bred Linnet take any form of live food and they definitely do not need it to rear healthy chicks.

My nest sites consist of a wire basket hung on the front of the cage mesh, with no cover inside the cage, but I use artificial Christmas tree branches to give some protection on the front.

The Linnets are quick to build their nests. I supply moss, and also natural materials which I buy from Quicko.