Hi, I am looking to apply for an firearms licence in Ireland (required in Ireland even for air rifles). You have to I think buy the gun before you apply for the licence in Ireland and put the serial no. on the application form. I would like to know what gun to apply for. I am new to air rifles. Don't know whether to get a recoilling or recoilless rifle. Needs to not be too expensive either because I don't have much money. I want to hunt mainly rabbits, but also some woodpigeon and crows. I want to preferably get a .177 type as I have a tin of .177 pellets at home.

(Posted this in the other subforum too but I think it should have been here)

Any help you could give me on what type of air rifle to look for would be much appreciated, thanks.

i not to sure on the laws etc but as for rabbits i prefer .22 but personal preferance it really depends on what you want to spend for about £180 you could pick up in uk a second hand bsa lightning with scope and bag , or about £250 a aa pro sport with scope and bag , or a bit more for hw95

stick to air arms, bsa and weihrachu and you wont go far wrong

Hi Mate,

I know the score, you have to buy the rifle, the gunshop owner keeps it in his safe, you apply for a licence, and about 3 months later you can collect it!

Its quite tricky applying too. Even though we own over 100 acres I also had to get two other landowners to give me written permission to shoot on their ground too. I also had to get a gun cabinet installed (which is a great investment, everyone should get one)