To rescue or not to rescue.

Hello all.

We are looking for a new dog and have seen that there are quite a few ex racing greyhounds for rescue. My wife is keen on the idea and I am getting tempted (though really wanted a spaniel or lab for retreiving).

OUr main concerns are

Are they good with young kids?

Can they be trained to return or are they a liability of the lead?

What are their daily excercise requirments realisticly. I've heard very little with time of the lead to many miles a day?

Am I likely to be taking on a nightmare dog as a rescue (the bloke I spoke to in Cumbria said the dogs are fostered first)?

I fancy the idea of lure coursing, will these dogs take to it and also is lure coursing for fun or is it very competative?

Any other pointers on the breed that may help as i'm new to these, has labs and an Akita in the past.

Cheers.

Most greyhounds are brilliant with kids and all people some can be funny but that goes for all breeds

They can be trained to return but you will need a secure area to undertake this training

exercise a couple of 20-30 minute walks a day is ample

If you get from a RGT or other adoption agency they will have been fostered as well as temperament and small animal and child ested

as long as the dog you take on has not been retired due to injury or being a non chaser you should be fine lure coursing

and as in all hobbies lure coursing can be competitve or laid back depending on how serious you and fellow club members take it,

If you have any more questions just drop me a PM

and if you are anywhere near Rugeley in staffordshire perhaps you would like to come and meet some of our retired dogs and perhaps have a closer look at the breed

I have a rescue Grey, so I'll tell you what she's been like.