What Bushing Dog

Attaboy

I'm considering a busher to work with my lurcher but not sure what to go for. I live on a boat with my young family and a cat so a dog that is easy to live with and doesn't get under your feet or bark all the time would be needed, the lurcher is great in this respect. With no access to a garden I need the dog to not vanish on a scent when allowed out to empty itself as we're mòored in a wooded valley. The lurcher is pretty good in this respect now that he's matured a bit.

I have no experience with this type of dog but I would love to be able to do some mooching with more success than at present. My main permission is a mixture of cattle pasture with Cornish hedges and broadleaved woodland and it's heaving with rabbits. There's also plenty of foxes, badgersand roe but im only after edible. I love lamping but want a bit of variety so what would you lads recommend? I know I'm asking a lot of a dog to fit all these requirements but that's why I'm asking you lads☺

Best thing I ever did was get a busher to work along side my lurcher. You see a lot more than you normally would have. I went for a spaniel x terrier. He’s settled in and isn’t scatty. I would probably go more for terrier though with living on a boat. Spaniels don’t tend to sit still for too long! Another option would be a beddy whippet type. I go out with a half cross and she bushes well. You also get the temperament of a lurcher. Only thing is not all beddy whippets will hit cover. Then again not all terriers or spaniels will. When you looking to get a pup?

13 hours ago, white van man said: