How long does it take the potatoes/sweet potatoes to rot? I'm looking at renting some land with a pond but as it's late in the season maybe I would be better off with something else like barley to start drawing them in?

I've never done this before, do you just leave the food round the margins of the pond?

I posted on this topic about a year ago. Maybe you'll believe maybe not. The best (apart from barley) margin food we ever put down was bananas. My mate worked for a wholesaler who, when the fruit was out of date, dumped it. We gave them a go and having 4 smallish and 1 large pond on the shoot used up loads. The ducks love them. I suggested that would be banana feeders might contact their local supermarkets because obviously they have the same problem with out of date stock. Definitely worth an ask. Jok.

• Like 2

Cheers fellas I found a few good bits of advice. Going to pop down the farm tomorrow and hopefully get the rights :)

If I start feeding now is there still a decent chance of pulling them in or will they already have established splashes?

Now the weathers coming in the duck will be looking for any food they can find. It only takes 2 or 3 to get it started and your patience is important. Let them in. Don't take your gun or your dog with you. Get under some cover and watch and listen. Pure magic when they come in chattering away to each other and that lovely whistle of wings as the teal dart in without you knowing where they came from. Good cloudy night so you get a chance to see them. Oh them were the days lad. Jok.

• Like 2