Full Body Vs Split Workout.

I'm a relative novice when it comes to working out, I've boxed and kept fit over the years but new to weightlifting. I've had the odd week or two over the years but nothing consistent.

For a beginner its recommended you start doing a full body routine, I've tried this but after a workout I feel like I haven't really trained hard or anything. I've also tried the split for example on a Monday chest and triceps, after using that method I feel like I've really exhausted my muscles and can feel the soreness the day after, gets me thinking are full body routines the way to go?

• Replies 108
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I agree with Sandymere......do you want to have muscles that ache or muscles that grow ?......You could get your wife to jump on your back go and stand on the stairs and do 100 calf raises,tomorrow yo

I dont really have an opinion either way lads it is what it is some people go mad for it some people dont.......at the end of the day no food is bad for you its the amount of it you have thats bad for

Not sure about this myself but something to consider.   What is the protein content of say 10 eggs, how convenient are they to cook, carry and eat?   How much powder do you have to mix up to get

For my tuppence worth if you’re just starting go for big moves/compound exercises to build the power first and get the body adapted to the new moves. Once you have the major muscles improving the little stuff like triceps etc will come easier, Use free weight for deadlifts, squats, bench press etc and you can add on some more focused stuff at the end if you want. Worst fault i saw in the gym was young lads spending all their time on biceps etc when they had weak backs, legs etc…waste of time. You work the little muscle when you work the big groups.

Lastly if you put the effort in you will feel like you have worked hard lol.

• Like 3