Whats the best time of the evening/night for fox??

Hi folks,

I'm new to shooting after having a 5 years or so break.

I was lucky enough that the land owner still knew me and allowed me back on the land...

Now when i went lamping the first time round those 5 or so years back, bagging foxes was easy. Yet i'm now lucky to see one let alone kill one! I don't recall the times of the evening/night i went lamping first time around, but it was obviously the "right time".

I went out early this evening, when it was dark and lamped for 2 years and never even saw a fox!

I saw plenty of rabbits, 2 deer and several owls up close, so i'm presuming my field craft is up to scratch.

Am i going to early in the evening maybe?

Just to add that i'm sqeeking by hand and also using the "Wam" fox caller. The only difference is the first time round i was using a " Cass Creek" caller, which had (from memory) 5 sounds. I don't recall what sound i used but it worked great, and was similar to a distressed rabbit squeal.

I tried varying the call pitch with the Wam, also volume and time between calls but still nothing.

The only thing i can think of is lampers on adjoining land are hitting the fox population hard. Or maybe something to do with the extreme weather were having :(

It's getting frustrating! Any veteran" foxers" out there that could give me an idea???

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Thats some shot 35 miles. You should be on the next series of top shot. LOL

What's with the weird lettering?

My 2 cents worth would say to be where you want to be just as it's getting dark. Then work later into the night depending on results. A fox can be around any time of the day or night. Even with the le