Hi, I'm not particularly young at 26 but I am new to the hunting scene. My Dad is having trouble at the moment with a fox thats taken a couple of lambs and mauled a few protective sheep (could be a badger but for legal reasons lets assume its a fox).

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice hunting a fox. We've got no gun license on the farm but a friend of mine has offered to come down with his shotgun that he mainly uses for clay pigeons. So I've got a method of dispatching it, how do we find it? What time of day is best to look? Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi, I'm not particularly young at 26 but I am new to the hunting scene. My Dad is having trouble at the moment with a fox thats taken a couple of lambs and mauled a few protective sheep (could be a badger but for legal reasons lets assume its a fox).

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice hunting a fox. We've got no gun license on the farm but a friend of mine has offered to come down with his shotgun that he mainly uses for clay pigeons. So I've got a method of dispatching it, how do we find it? What time of day is best to look? Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers

I'm only a young hunter but i would definitely not be shooting at it with a shotgun as it might not kill it and you would be breaking the law if you let it get away badly injured.

I would recomend purchasing a fox trap(box trap) and capture the fox in it. Bait it up with a bit of meat or something.

Once you have caught it in the trap, put a thick leather glove on and grab it then break it's neck.

It may take you a good few days or weeks to catch it.

Regards,

Alex

Cheers

I'm only a young hunter but i would definitely not be shooting at it with a shotgun as it might not kill it and you would be breaking the law if you let it get away badly injured.