Getting Started Hunting...suggestions?

How do people get started hunting if they don't know anyone or have family history of hunting?

I started shooting a few years back with a BSA R10, just targets and HFT, then applied for my SGC and started shooting some clays about 18 months ago, what has become quite apparent is i much prefer and am far better at shooting with a rifle than I am with a shotgun, so figure this year i need to either go back to Air or consider going FAC and CF

I don't have land, or permission, and to be honest i'm not sure i have the free time to do having either justice, I work as an EMT for the NHS which does have the advantage of giving me blocks of days off and time off in week days, but no regular days off to commit to a schedule or attend a shooting club or similar (tried that one).

So really i'm wondering on the best way to change my involvement in the sport, learn to hunt (for the sport and food), but not just the kill, also the after side of checking and preparing the animal for the table...

I love watching videos of Foxing and Deer stalking and would love to head in that direction, but where to even start?! Have car, will travel, happy to watch, get dirty, drive, get cold, do courses, training, be mentored, etc, just at this stage don't even know where to start looking, Foxing with a shotgun to get some experience? But then i'd have to get some permission which could lead to my FAC, or go do a beginners stalking course and maybe DSC1?

Don't really know the best direction to take, any advice/suggestions greatly received?

Thanks in advance

Paul

join a casual range that will shoot to 100 yds.this will allow you to zero any rifles ready for a day.next step look into the odd payed day stalking .if a bit of foxing turns up you can add that to conditions at a later date.permision is the key to getting the most out of a firearm but as you say time is tight.

• Like 2