Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Photon Zeroing


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 shropshire dan

shropshire dan

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Shropshire

Posted 10 August 2016 - 12:25 pm

Hi all I mounted the photon on the .22-250 and have ran out of windage. The elevation has ran out 1 inch high which is perfect but is currently 1 inch right of bull.

It's no major issue as a fox will be just as dead with a bullet going 1 inch astray just wandered if you all had any ideas.

I'd buy adjustable mounts but am a bit strut for cash at the minute.

Thanks in advance

#2 David.evans

David.evans

    4 warning points

  • Donator
  • 3,805 posts
  • Location:Birmingham

Posted 10 August 2016 - 12:43 pm

Dan  shim it over and use tin foil of a pucka pie 

atb mate ;)



#3 hily

hily

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 1,297 posts
  • Location:northumberland

Posted 10 August 2016 - 12:53 pm

on a rail or blocks you could try swapping rings around or blocks  


  • bob.243 likes this

#4 shropshire dan

shropshire dan

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Shropshire

Posted 10 August 2016 - 01:01 pm

Thanks chaps. Its on bases but is specific fit bases so can't swap them around. What about swapping the rings around.

David will I need to shim it 1 side of the rings or all the way around?

Sorry for the questions I've never shimmed before lol
  • mad max likes this

#5 David.evans

David.evans

    4 warning points

  • Donator
  • 3,805 posts
  • Location:Birmingham

Posted 10 August 2016 - 08:32 pm

Opposite side you want to move the ret
Atb Dan
Ie , ret right shim left

#6 shropshire dan

shropshire dan

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Shropshire

Posted 10 August 2016 - 09:38 pm

Thanks David. Appreciate your help

Atb
Dan

#7 shropshire dan

shropshire dan

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Shropshire

Posted 11 August 2016 - 03:32 pm

Give up. Been out today to zero and ran out of both elevation and windage was shooting 4 inch high and 2 inch right at 50 yards. Going to order some adjustable mounts. Put the Minox scope back on ready for tomorrow's foxing

#8 hily

hily

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 1,297 posts
  • Location:northumberland

Posted 11 August 2016 - 04:18 pm

lets know how you get on Dan.

#9 shropshire dan

shropshire dan

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Shropshire

Posted 11 August 2016 - 05:14 pm

Cheers mate will do. Luckily I had some cheap ppu full metal jacket ammo to get it on paper whilst zeroing tried 10 rounds and the realised I ran out of adjustment lol. Glad I didn't use the Hornady superformance as they cost a fortune

#10 Rabid

Rabid

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 1,748 posts
  • Location:Beds

Posted 16 September 2016 - 07:15 pm

Sounds like you shimmed the wrong side ! I have shimmed several times, and I would always advise using the old camera roll, the negatives work quite well also, imagine which way you need to move the scope, and fit the shim the opposite side, if you need to get the poi down, then a shim underneath on the back mount.

#11 archiekale

archiekale

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 766 posts
  • Location:west yorkshire

Posted 16 September 2016 - 08:59 pm

take your time with the adjustable mounts and follow the instructions to the letter   and dont forget to zero  x =  0 and y = 0 on the photon so everything is central then fine tune with the photon  controls  easy



#12 MacSniper

MacSniper

    Rookie Hunter

  • Donator
  • 10 posts
  • Location:South Lanarkshire

Posted 19 October 2016 - 05:02 pm

how did you get on with your adjustable mounts on your photon?  I had the same problem, but not for windage!  The crosshair was an inch low of target, so I shimmed it up with a set of Hawke shims off fleabay - plenty of adjustment after that with X=+10 and Y=-12, so the Hawke shims worked nicely!!  I did end up buying a set of ATP72 Picatinny adjustable mounts, but unlike the APT66 Dovetail mounts, the Picatinny only adjust for elevation...  It wasn't a problem though... I only seemed to need the adjustment on the elevation anyway!!  Now sitting at X=+6 and Y= -4!  

 

Hawke shims are about £10 from fleabay and definitely a cheaper option than adjustable mounts, so might be worth considering as an option!  Just be aware when you fit them - they are marked on the inside of the plastic shim with direction arrows and which one goes to the rear mount (thicker shim) and which one goes to the front mount (thinner shim)!  They are said to add around 25 MOA of elevation to your scope adjustment!!  

 

Cheers 

 

Mac



#13 shropshire dan

shropshire dan

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Shropshire

Posted 31 October 2016 - 06:33 pm

Sorry Mac for not replying. I sold it in the end lost my rag and give up lol. Bought another Nitesite Eagle now lol
So much more simple perfect for me

Regards
Dan

#14 Jack.308

Jack.308

    Mega Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Location:West midlands

Posted 03 November 2016 - 07:37 pm

Had this problem very recent, after a lot of playing around I could not get enough on the axis to zero in. Turns out when I put the mounts on and tightened up they were tight on the left side and about 3mm apart on the right. After I took it off and tightend so there was equal gaps on both sides it sighted in to almost bang on just one click out, so might be worth checking imo

#15 shropshire dan

shropshire dan

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 2,649 posts
  • Location:Shropshire

Posted 03 November 2016 - 09:04 pm

Cheers Jack. I officially give up lol. love the simplicity of the Nitesite. NO zero change




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users