Rspca ~ Chastising A Dog

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Some individual dogs,...need to have a straightener,...or they will cause major problems,..and even get themselves killed... Back in the day...I used to be a hard fecker with a dog,...but, over the ye

This thread opens up an interesting insight into how folks think dog digest information   On one side we have the positive reinforcement model, where if you do as I ask I'll give you a treat , how

i agree 100% skycat,im not a professional gun dog trainer but i have owned and trained my own gun dogs and terriers ,i personally find its best all round if you persevere with building the bond requir

Seen him before....,nothing wrong with that what so ever. Maybe if your everyday Joe public would watch it there might not be so many daft unruly dogs running around the place.

I've no idea why he lets it run about with the lead on through.

IN this day of over-protection of animals, where the public see any kind of chastisement as cruelty, I can see why carrying the dog by its neck and smacking it on the bum to make it sit could be construed as over harsh. Personally, I have never had to resort to anything like that when teaching a young dog to sit and stay. I wouldn't like to see any of my dogs glue themselves to the ground in total submission for fear of another slap, and I have had some very hard-headed pups to deal with over the years, though not spaniels. Sitting and staying is simply a matter of repetition, and although it might take a little longer if you don't hit the dog to make it fear and obey you, you get there in the end.