Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Zeroing The Yukon Photon Xt 6.5 X 42


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 ian28

ian28

    Rookie Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:nottinghamshire

Posted 23 February 2016 - 10:07 pm

i have just purchased one of these for my .22lr and i am very pleased with it apart from having trouble zeroing it in, for some reason when i first tried zeroing it i fired at a target at 100yrds and it was missing the target completely so moved target to 70yrds and hit it so zeroed it in at 70yrds, so tried it again at 100yrds and hit it but when i went to move the cross down it woundnt make it down fully to where the bullet hit cause it was to its full max of 30  down, as anyone else had problems zeroing this scope in????

 

I wish someone near me had one of these cause I would bring it to you to zero it for me haha make it a lot easier :D hint hint :yes:

​​

hope someone can help me....

 

cheers

atb ian



#2 Merlin21

Merlin21

    Born Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location:neath , NPT ..

Posted 23 February 2016 - 10:52 pm

common problem with them mine was the same need to build the back mount up slightly . best way is with adjustable mounts or i have heard people using a bit of tin from a tin of pop of some camera film . something thin basically .. adjustable mounts are the best option .. i bought some cheap one piece adjustable mounts off e bay works a treat now ...  good luck


  • johonawhitness likes this

#3 Tremo

Tremo

    Mega Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Location:Gone Bush

Posted 24 February 2016 - 12:02 pm

As Merlin21 said. This is a common "feature" ( :laugh:  :laugh:) with Photons.



#4 Mr. P

Mr. P

    Rookie Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 10 March 2016 - 11:12 pm

You've just joined a long list of people who have had this problem. Yukon might eventually tinker with newer versions of the scope, it seems to obviously be lacking a thorough field test. I cut a piece of beer can and slotted it under the rear mount. A bit Heath-Robinson, but it does work and cost me nothing. 

I've used my Yukon a lot now and would recommend zeroing it at 50 yards. That's a reasonable range for night shooting, it's a compromise range; you should be able to get to within 50 yards of even a wary rabbit at night, if conditions are right, and it's a good range for the capabilities of the .22LR.

I've put a small white dot on the focus ring and one on the body of the scope that align when the scope is focussed at 50 yards. This allows me to quickly re-set the focus to my zero range. I tend to leave the scope focussed at that range as the ring is a pest to turn with frozen fingers. A coaster helps a lot.

After trial and error I've popped out the large centre blank in the scope cover for daylight use (the Yukon is not a great day scope) - seems to work better than just relying on the tiny aperture.

Good luck


  • David.evans likes this

#5 Metalman2

Metalman2

    Born Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 244 posts

Posted 11 March 2016 - 05:30 pm

Here's another for the drinks can, zeroed at 60 yds, half inch high 50yds, half low at 70 yds

#6 hutchey

hutchey

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 877 posts
  • Location:Tenterden

Posted 11 March 2016 - 08:16 pm

Bit of old 35mm camera film negative worked a treat for me


  • 3175darren likes this

#7 ian28

ian28

    Rookie Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:nottinghamshire

Posted 14 March 2016 - 07:38 pm

thanks all



#8 caio77

caio77

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:italy

Posted 26 August 2016 - 01:05 pm

common problem with them mine was the same need to build the back mount up slightly . best way is with adjustable mounts or i have heard people using a bit of tin from a tin of pop of some camera film . something thin basically .. adjustable mounts are the best option .. i bought some cheap one piece adjustable mounts off e bay works a treat now ...  good luck

please Merlin could you send me some pictures ? i have the same problem and i would like to understand how i can arrange it 

thanks a lot 



#9 Lamp_Shy

Lamp_Shy

    Born Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Location:West Scotland

Posted 27 August 2016 - 07:00 am

From my own recent experience & investigations into the same issue, the consistent advice I'm getting is to use a Picatinny rail and the one piece mount made by Photon. I've decided to convert my M595 over to a Picatinny rail & dedicated Photon mount. Both are getting delivered today, and I'll post a pic when I can.

Photons have 30 plus clicks and each click value is 17mm at 100yds, which equates to just over 0.5M adjustment available @ 100 Yds, therefore I'd think this points to the mounts being well out?

Other option is using a + MOA rail, but I don't think it's ideal.

See other post on issues I've had with using a QR system.

Edited by Lamp_Shy, 27 August 2016 - 07:26 am.


#10 caio77

caio77

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:italy

Posted 31 August 2016 - 07:29 am

From my own recent experience & investigations into the same issue, the consistent advice I'm getting is to use a Picatinny rail and the one piece mount made by Photon. I've decided to convert my M595 over to a Picatinny rail & dedicated Photon mount. Both are getting delivered today, and I'll post a pic when I can.

Photons have 30 plus clicks and each click value is 17mm at 100yds, which equates to just over 0.5M adjustment available @ 100 Yds, therefore I'd think this points to the mounts being well out?

Other option is using a + MOA rail, but I don't think it's ideal.

See other post on issues I've had with using a QR system.

thank you Lamp , but i have another problem : i have 11mm rail becuase i will use my photon on CZ455 and i don't want to buy another ring + rail becuase too expensive , but please post you pictures i like to see other solution 

thanks



#11 Lamp_Shy

Lamp_Shy

    Born Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Location:West Scotland

Posted 31 August 2016 - 11:29 am


From my own recent experience & investigations into the same issue, the consistent advice I'm getting is to use a Picatinny rail and the one piece mount made by Photon. I've decided to convert my M595 over to a Picatinny rail & dedicated Photon mount. Both are getting delivered today, and I'll post a pic when I can.

Photons have 30 plus clicks and each click value is 17mm at 100yds, which equates to just over 0.5M adjustment available @ 100 Yds, therefore I'd think this points to the mounts being well out?

Other option is using a + MOA rail, but I don't think it's ideal.

See other post on issues I've had with using a QR system.

thank you Lamp , but i have another problem : i have 11mm rail becuase i will use my photon on CZ455 and i don't want to buy another ring + rail becuase too expensive , but please post you pictures i like to see other solution 
thanks
Have a look at other thread. Pics on there. IMO cheaper rails and mounts = alignment problems mate.


http://www.thehuntin...s/#entry4295729

Edited by Lamp_Shy, 31 August 2016 - 01:17 pm.


#12 Lamp_Shy

Lamp_Shy

    Born Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Location:West Scotland

Posted 12 September 2016 - 06:33 pm

Thought I'd add some more tuppenceworth to this much discussed topic:

My Photon is now pretty much 100% using a 0 MOA Picatinny rail and a dedicated Photon mount from Yukon.

I have a couple of observations however:

The Photon naturally sits quite high, and whilst this wouldn't normally be a problem, the adjustment range is quite limited @ 30 clicks on both X & Y axis, hence some folk run into problems when zeroing. There simply isn't enough adjustment to lower the scope if it's mounted too high.

Even using the dedicated mount, my vertical axis is way out at 24 clicks, which means it's almost at max adjustment. Not good IMO.

Secondly, you can adjust by loosening the four cap screws, but this would invalidate the warranty. It most certainly will work though.

Lastly, if you do have to adjust way out to around 30 clicks, the cross hairs don't self-centre again, and it's hellish to look at being so far offset

I personally don't like the idea of adjustable mounts on a CF as it's more to loosen off.

Otherwise I'm delighted with the Photon, which, coupled with an NM 800 IR IC is way more than I'll ever shoot at.

Key message is don't use a rail converter, it adds too much height for the Photon to cope with. And get the lowest mounts possible and it'll be fine.

ATB

Edited by Lamp_Shy, 12 September 2016 - 06:37 pm.


#13 caio77

caio77

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:italy

Posted 13 September 2016 - 07:09 am

yesterday i try again to zeroing my photon with my cz455 ..... terrible 

when i move the reticle down i shoot high , when o move up i shoot down , seems is inverted .

i don't understand where is the problem 



#14 Lamp_Shy

Lamp_Shy

    Born Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Location:West Scotland

Posted 13 September 2016 - 08:29 am

yesterday i try again to zeroing my photon with my cz455 ..... terrible 

when i move the reticle down i shoot high , when o move up i shoot down , seems is inverted .

i don't understand where is the problem 

 

 

Remember when you adjust the Photon, it works the opposite to a normal scope. You move the cross hairs to the POI (Point of Impact) on the target.

 

In other words, aim at the centre of the target, don't move the rifle, then check where the shot is on the target, then move the Photon cross hairs to the POI - then remember to save the settings.

 

Its all in the manual.



#15 hily

hily

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 1,297 posts
  • Location:northumberland

Posted 13 September 2016 - 05:40 pm

   :thumbs: 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users