Dave Sleight Kelpie Lurcher

iv worked on farms with kelpies thay are so clever and hard workers so keen to please .I milk cows for a living so im looking for a dog to fill many roles . working cows plus ferreting ,lamping plus rats and mice in and around the yards most mornings at 4 getting the cows in there is pray to catch plus the cows to get in . so that's my reason for the kelpie lurcher . just lost my last bitch of 15 years bed x whip x collie . a very good dog and have been thinking of getting the same but I want to a kelpie I belive will just have the edge on other breeds . when I find one I will keep you all up to date thanks

I agree that they'd give you the versatility you're after. I have three pure kelpies (an ancient almost 16 year old dog, 8 year old bitch and 18 month old dog) and while I bought them for general mooching about, I've used them for ferreting, bushing etc on rat, rabbit, squirrel and pigeon. They're also very interested in flushing pheasant and pointing deer (for photographic purposes only of course) and the bitch has been known to work sheep; though only as a one off. The pup is a lot more interested in fox than the older two...I think the old boy in my avatar probably thought they were related and he's a lot bigger too: 22" and currently about 44 lbs as opposed to 19" and about 36 lbs. Edited to add: I mean the 18 month old is bigger; not the other way around.

Incidentally, I bought old Rusty after getting a kelpie/collie x greyhound from Dave Sleight's first litter of greyhound crosses and being so impressed by the difference in temperament compared to previous collie crosses. Having said that, Dave had said that the dam had a particularly good temperament too.

If you put a search in here there are several threads on kelpie crosses. Don't forget though that, like collies, not all kelpies are the same. My bitch is very "worky" whereas my males (related but from slightly different lines) are far more laid back.

Edited by Neal