Jump to content


Photo

Kennel /run Floor


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 DEERMAN

DEERMAN

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,253 posts

Posted 15 February 2015 - 10:10 am

My Kennels floor has been down 3 years and its in shit state ,flaking where water must of got in and expanded etc etc

 

Question is do i just dig it all up and relay as it runs at a slope and if like ive read on here laid ontop of old it would only be a few mm thick at the top end by buildings

 

Is there any concrete mix that's better to lay than others for run floors and would applying a sealer every year help

 

 Attached File  320883_10150332703431381_874928868_n.jpg   91.77KB   7 downloads


Edited by DEERMAN, 15 February 2015 - 12:18 pm.

  • spindolero, Rebel, king and 13 others like this

#2 MoChara

MoChara

    THL's Moaning Blonde

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,103 posts
  • Location:Northern Ireland

Posted 15 February 2015 - 10:24 am

Sorry I can't help just think that set up deserved a like. Brilliant set up deerman.. Wish I'd it! Hope you get your answers seeing as I'm useless lol :thumbs:
  • Rebel, DEERMAN and malc1 like this

#3 DEERMAN

DEERMAN

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,253 posts

Posted 15 February 2015 - 10:27 am

Sorry I can't help just think that set up deserved a like. Brilliant set up deerman.. Wish I'd it! Hope you get your answers seeing as I'm useless lol :thumbs:

That makes 2 of us that's useless when it comes to stuff like this  :laugh:



#4 farmerkev09

farmerkev09

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 1,267 posts
  • Location:in the dog house

Posted 18 February 2015 - 08:43 am

Hard it! That's what the screed is called mix up and pour over it self levelling and good stuff only thing is that when wet it can get slippy so I painted mine with grit floor paint just a idea for ye to look in to cracking set up
  • DEERMAN likes this

#5 redcharge

redcharge

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 937 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 18 February 2015 - 08:28 pm

I'd tile it mate, only problem is it will cost you an arm and a leg due to them kennels being huge!!! Lol
  • Dunkanon and All-terrain like this

#6 redcharge

redcharge

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 937 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 18 February 2015 - 08:28 pm

Double post

#7 DEERMAN

DEERMAN

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,253 posts

Posted 19 February 2015 - 02:36 am

I'd tile it mate, only problem is it will cost you an arm and a leg due to them kennels being huge!!! Lol

can you tile out side and what tiles would you use ? and cost ?..i have thought about slabs 



#8 trenchfoot

trenchfoot

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,804 posts
  • Location:"Wet" Pennine Moors

Posted 19 February 2015 - 07:13 am

I'ts a bit late now, but there is an additive for concrete that makes it more suitable for kennels and stables etc. Stops p#ss rot


  • leegreen likes this

#9 redcharge

redcharge

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 937 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 19 February 2015 - 09:07 am


I'd tile it mate, only problem is it will cost you an arm and a leg due to them kennels being huge!!! Lol

can you tile out side and what tiles would you use ? and cost ?..i have thought about slabs 
You can use quarry tiles or the type used around swimming pools. I'm not sure of the cost it was a few years back when I done minehttp://m.wallsandflo...CFabHtAodWWAAKg

#10 downsouth

downsouth

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 1,525 posts

Posted 19 February 2015 - 10:09 am

Mine has done the same in places.I used a ready mix company as I had to lay it in a day on my own I wish I'd have knocked it up myself now.My mate is going to Tile mine in the summer 18squ metres he's told me to shop about and find the best deal on non slip porcelains.Im hoping to find some 600mm square tiles so there is less grout.I can't remember what adhesive and grout he said he would use but I know he said something about flexi.He said not to use quarry tiles as they are too porous.

#11 redcharge

redcharge

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 937 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 19 February 2015 - 10:12 am

Mine has done the same in places.I used a ready mix company as I had to lay it in a day on my own I wish I'd have knocked it up myself now.My mate is going to Tile mine in the summer 18squ metres he's told me to shop about and find the best deal on non slip porcelains.Im hoping to find some 600mm square tiles so there is less grout.I can't remember what adhesive and grout he said he would use but I know he said something about flexi.He said not to use quarry tiles as they are too porous.


Quarry tiles are sound as long as you seal them every so often with linseed oil, the piss just rolls off them into the drains

#12 redcharge

redcharge

    Extreme Hunter

  • Donator
  • 937 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 19 February 2015 - 10:17 am

This pictures a bit shit but it's the only one I've got on my phone.
1E8F2415-3C95-42E9-84BD-79F8196DC3D0.jpg
  • malc1 and hawki like this

#13 Giro

Giro

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,469 posts
  • Location:Cold Mountain.

Posted 19 February 2015 - 10:42 am

Mate thats such a shame, as your kennels look better than my house.. 

 

Can you not re lay a couple of inches ?? 

 

Time you fork out for tiles and someone to lay them or your own time. 

 

My base aint that deep & been down for ages , mate put a good finish on with float.. 

 

What mix did you use ?? 


  • THE STIFFMEISTER likes this

#14 DEERMAN

DEERMAN

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,253 posts

Posted 19 February 2015 - 10:46 am

Mate thats such a shame, as your kennels look better than my house.. 

 

Can you not re lay a couple of inches ?? 

 

Time you fork out for tiles and someone to lay them or your own time. 

 

My base aint that deep & been down for ages , mate put a good finish on with float.. 

 

What mix did you use ?? 

I didnt do it mate i had someone do it i was away at time ,think it was ready mix .................thinking of ripping it all up and getting someone in tidy to do it again .....its on a slope so up top by buildings it would be very thin if i laid ontop of old


Edited by DEERMAN, 19 February 2015 - 10:50 am.


#15 Giro

Giro

    Extreme Hunter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,469 posts
  • Location:Cold Mountain.

Posted 19 February 2015 - 10:55 am

Aye thats shit really.. 

 

Good concrete should last a lifetime.. 

 

You got no come back of the the lad that out it down ?? 

 

Bet you paid a pretty penny for that setup.. 

 

I am moving soon - looking to put something similar - smaller though lol.. 

 

Tidy looking setup.. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users