.22-250 Newbie Advice

Firstly, I apologise because I know there are some posts ongoing regarding this calibre and I have read through a few of them.

I have just been granted a .22-250 (without a mentoring condition :yes: Happy days) on my certificate. Certificate has just come back and they have kindly opened my .17HMR. So I am extremely happy and I have got that happy feeling, which I think we've all had, whereby I want a rifle right now :cray:;)

But, I know I have too exercise patience because I am new to the centrefire world. I have been reading a lot, and shopping a lot. I have also read a lot about barrell wear and understand the importance of it. So, I've decided, (unless its someone I can really trust or has got a good reputation), to buy a new rifle. I have looked at Sports Man Gun Centre because it is very close to me and they have been a great bunch in the past. They have listed:

Weatherby Vangaurd Mk2 Syn/Blued Carbine .22-250 Rem 20 Inch £499.99 exc vat£599.99

However, it doesn't say if this is threaded.

2.They also have the same model as above, at the same price, but with a 24" barrell.

Remington 700 SPS Varmint Threaded .22-250 Rem 26 Inch £536.66 exc vat£643.99

Its gonna take me a little while to save up for a rifle in these price ranges, but I am half way there. So I've got plenty of time to read and learn hopefully from you guys. I want to ask is if anyone has any ideas or experience on the Weatherby brand of rifle? If they have, how would you say they would compare to the Remington

I have also noticed the difference in barrell lengths. What does this mean for the shooter. Is 20" better than 26" or is it just easier in the field due to the length of barrell??

Should I have to worry much about twist rates if I am going to be sticking to 50-55 grain rounds?

If the Weatherby isn't threaded, would it be worth me putting the extra pennies toward the Remington? I dont know the cost of getting a barrell threaded.