I've got a lovely thick brush sitting my freezer that I want to preserve and hang with my hunting plates on the wall. I've done a good bit of reading on it and found people are suggesting methylated spirits to preserve it, but are they using purple meth, and does this not affect the colouring?

Secondly, once "methed", is it done? I would shampoo it to rinse the meth off, but does anybody salt the inside or stuff it? I'll probably stuff some cotton wool down there to make it a bit more rigid, and then sew the top shut with a looped piece of nice twine to hang it from. Does this sound about right? Should I include salt with the cotton wool?

Any other methods people advise?

Cheers in advance.

Only advice I can offer as I am a complete beginner at taxidermy and have only done a few squirrels but personally to preserve I use formaldehyde after I have rinsed the fur and dried it pretty much.

Also for making a squirrels tail rigid I use a piece of wire with cotton wool or fibreglass around it.

I'm sure someone will be along with more advice soon but glad to share what I can

i take it you have pulled the bone out the tail if you have run a piece of wire down the tail and push it through the tip of the tail. using a syringe squirt meths down it

then soak the whole tail in meths for a week then wash and leave to dry.

i take it you have pulled the bone out the tail if you have run a piece of wire down the tail and push it through the tip of the tail. using a syringe squirt meths down it

then soak the whole tail in meths for a week then wash and leave to dry.

steve109 uses some stuff you just dip the tail in and that's it

Will purple meths work well enough? Or will the purple dye discolour the tail? I want to get this one right as it's a really nice brush.

yes :laugh: you will need to wash it afterwards to get rid of the smell

Currently sitting in some Meth now. Will let you guys know how I get on.

• 4 weeks later...