Starter Looking For Advice

Hi Folks

My first post here – looking for information and advice from the professional!

I’m pretty new to the ferreting business, but very keen to get it off ground and get out there on a regular basis. I’ve been reading over the great wealth of information on the forum (which you have kindly contributed to) and think I have a good idea of what is needed – however – would much appreciated anyone can give constructive feedback on what I have in mind.

Looking at getting the following equipment:

Hutch – Looking for a large one with a run, I work away from home most of the day so was wanting a bit of area for them to stretch their legs – looking at getting 3 Jill’s if possible

Q. Do they randomly crap in any old corner, or, if I were to put a litter tray in would they tend to use it?

Q. What’s the best bedding to use for them? I have access to shredded paper, will this be enough for a Scottish winter’s night or will they need hay?

ch-167at%20new_02.jpg

It was something like this I was looking into getting (or would it be overkill?)

Nets – Looking at getting about 40 purse nuts and one Long net (30m or so), the rabbits are mostly around sand dunes and are well established, so was thinking 1m nets?

Q. Is there any specific colour to avoid or does anything go?

The Ferrets – As mentioned looking at getting 3 Jill’s, reason thinking is that there won’t be any worries about mixing the boys and girls! Also I’ve read that Hobs are more likely to kill rabbits and require digging out once they’ve had a feed and crashed out for a sleep (not sure if this is correct or not??)

Q. Will my neighbours moan like troopers with the smell? Is it that bad or are people just over exaggerating things??

Q. While working the ferrets how long (on average) do you tend to run them through the burrows before they need a rest?

Obvious requirments - Ferret Finder – Deben MK3 – Ferret Box – Shovel etc