Terrier Bushing Problems

i'm new to terriers only ever ad lurchers i used for lamping but i have brought a border lakeland i was tols was a good bushing dog an she is the only problem is some times she will get a sent get very xcited an run off an will only come back if she feel like it is this down to bad training or just a trait of the terier ??

you should be able to stop a terrier mate. there not as deep scent as other breeds i'm not saying it's easy especially when there close on something but it does all boil down to training. Keep working on the recall.

if the dog keeps going off i'd invest in a collar or some sort of tracking system because before you know it you've lost the dog or you find the dog baying in the a hole it shouldn't be if you get my drift. there is allways a lead but i don't think that would suit bushing dog. a good bushing dog should work close by it's no good hitting game out of cover three fields away . put the hard work in and reep the benefits.

davies i know you only trying to help the lad out but you talking nonsense when you say you can't stop a terrier on scent . and a dog that doesn't come back when called can lose you your permission fast and maybe even your liberty if your unlucky. As dog owners were responsible for there actions.

atb R.A.W

• Like 1

i tried giving her alot of praise when she comes back but most the time she won't come no were near me she just wants to keep hunting she is about 2 years olds so i'm starting to wounder if she is ever going to come good an i no want ya mean about her going off getting herself an me into trouble starting to think she might make better pet then working dog ??