Knives

Had this site sent to me and to be Honest the knifes sound and look the business!! the guy who makes them certainly looks like he builds a quality tool :yes:, anyone tried one of these knives? there is also another site by a guy who is a Blacksmith by trade but makes some excellent knives or pretty much anything else either to order or already made on the site....

Cheers

Jasper http://www.thehuntingknife.com/

http://www.knivesbynick.co.uk/

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not very bright when it comes to steels!! But I found this if its of any Interest. I have a knife here made by CRKT with 440c steel and I must admit it holds a great edge.......

SECRETS OF STEEL

THE MYTHS, AND THE FACTS OF CUTLERY

STEELS EXPLAINED

To understand the properties of steel you have to first understand what steel is. Steel is iron ore that is melted and mixed with other elements to produce steel. Without these essential elements steel is simply iron and won't hold an edge.

Steel manufacturers add many different elements, but the main one that affects how a knife steel performs is Carbon. Carbon is what gives steel it's ability to hold an edge. The more carbon you add, the better the steel will hold a sharp edge. Unfortunately, steel is unusual in that for every good thing you get, you also get a bad thing too, and carbon undermines steels ability to resist corrosion. As you add more carbon, you increase the risk of corrosion.

O1 carbon steel is a typical example of this procedure. High in it's carbon content with excellent edge retention properties yet it will rust like a bucket if not cared for in a loving manner. This type of steel requires serious maintenance and care, and even then the steel will still discouler naturally over a relatively short period of time.