Just a few photos and a wee update.

Some of you will know that this year i took on the job of keeper on a local estate/shoot, which had a really bad season last year. I have never worked as a keeper before, but grew up around shoots as my dad was a pretty good spaniel breeder and trainer/trialer. So i figured i would toss my hat into the ring, and after having a meeting, they decided to go with me as part time keeper (full time job, part time hours haha)

We got our birds in, in July, and i spent the first three months of the job feeding the birds, trying to change some of the habitats (with the working guns), killing vermin and generally trying to get things to a state where we would have a better season than the previous, where they had managed less than 300 birds for the whole season.

There have been some major set backs, which have included the total failing of our game/cover crops, with it being too wet / too dry, for them to get sown and to grow. This made life difficult, because obviously they were where the birds would hold, and also at least two of the drives are almost entirely based around them. The weather also didnt help the birds, and some of the working guns have been worse than useless and have actually hindred stuff. Oh yer, and we have a massive buzzard and gos problem . . . . .

Anyway, i worked at it, taking some advice and making some of it up as i went a long. . . .

We had our first shoot day about 3 weeks ago, and managed to make the bag to 96! As you cam imagine i was relieved and the guns etc were very happy. The birds flew well, and many said that it was the best day that they had seen on the shoot in at least ten years.

Two weeks later (last week) we had our second shoot day, and everyone was ready for a let down, expecting it to go down hill from the 96. Much to their delight, we shot 109 birds! It's been a very long time since the shoot broke the ton.