Im a professional huntsman for a pack of hounds and have always trained the foxhound pups with couples, for those of you who dont know what im talking about i'll give you a quick rundown, the younger hound is put on a couple ( similar but bigger to a terrier couple) with an older experienced hound and when a command is given to the old hound the pups is dragged along and the pup learns from association, so....... to get to my point, ive kept back two whippet puppies from a litter i bred and have decided to try this out with them. keeping two pups back is difficult because they tend to gang up and piss off in the opposite direction, this way they are not able to do that but are still getting out a lot without the fear of them getting into trouble, so far it seems to be working, i suppose a lot of it depends on the tollerance levels of the dog the pup is coupled to.

7170853918_938efd5b40_b.jpg

LMP31959 by foxhound51, on Flickr

7170850334_7410bcf7d9_b.jpg

LMP31948 by foxhound51, on Flickr

7170857172_a59257224f_b.jpg

LMP32010 by foxhound51, on Flickr

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

To me mate that is screaming out injury fair enough walking them on couples but free running etc what of a rabbit pops up and dogs turn either way or whatever? Playing and turn either way? Pups with y

There is massive difference between fox hounds and running dogs, both physically and in temperament. I can see how it works with fox hounds, which must learn to operate as part of a pack, but they a

Hell yeah it has

Posted Images