Hawke Varmint 3-12x44 sf Question

Hello chaps, Im using a Hawke Varmint 3-12x44 sf.. to be honest im not really happy with the scope as most my shooting i do at dusk and dawn. Iv just read a review on the scope and it says its designed for a .22 rifle...im using a HW100k Sporter .177. Im no expert on rifles or scopes so just woundering if some of you can help me out with why its designed for a .22.? Im a bit miffed at why the shop that sold me the rifle would advised me that the scope was compatable and a good buy to go with my HW100 Sporter .177.? :hmm:

Cheers

Marty.

is it a new model with the half mildot, if so it is absoluetly fine to use with an airrifle as with any mildot scopes the only ones which are more suited to rimfire are the standard 30/30 reticles

i had a hawke varmint 4-16x44 sf new model about a month ago but sent it back as the reticle is too thick for my taste

It was originally designed for Centre Fire and .22 Rimmies that are shot at greater distances than your average airgun.

It is fine for use on any airgun what ever calibre you use :yes:

As mentioned above, it appears to have a thicker ret than most airgun scopes and although I could be wrong, my guess is that the thickness is due (at least in part) to it being designed for Fire Arms rather than airgun.

Tony

Hi Marty.

If you havnt had the scope too long and the shop is willing to swop, have a look at one of these.

http://www.uttings.c...sf-rifle-scope/

Excellent scope from the Hawke stable, very good in low light conditions :thumbs:

One of the best Hawkes Ive owned, and I have had a few :yes:

Bill.

Edited by Sweeney-Todd

Umm I'm a bit confused with what you are saying here buddy.

Is the scope to dull for you at dawn and dusk or are you not getting the shooting results you require?

Regarding being too dull if this is the case, are you turning it down to between x3 and x6 mag? If not you should for best results and light gathering qualities.