Hi All,

I am a farmer and the proud owner of 58 in lamb Shetland ewes. To day I went to feed my sheep and found that I had two lambs off of one ewe and one more off another with its sibling on the way!

The first Lambs are boys and one is white with black patches on his eyes and the other is all white.

The second arrivals of the day are black with white patches on there heads.

There navels have been dipped in iodine and they are up and running about like mad!

More updates will follow as the lambing proceeds and pictures will be available when I bring them in, in the next few days.

Any questions about lambing please feel free to PM me. or to email me at sambutler02@live.co.uk

Thanks

Edited by oldmantanner

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Yes I do, that problem is common when you dont do it. As for the rotten ones you do get them from time to time and obviously more so in a larger flock. % of the un-born lambs growth happens in the l

Yes I do. However I am not prepared to watch the livestock that I have poured my life and soul into being killed by some pesky badgers.   All of the farmers around my area are the same and most do j

Why you go for Shetlands mate ?.Are they a rare breed ?.

Shetlands are not a rare breed, no. BUT they have one of the best fleeces you can get.

Although they are not the biggest lambs you can get, they certainly are one of they tastiest

PLUS in my experience they are also one of they easiest sheep to maintain.

OK

So Lambing update number two.

Last night was a good one with two singles being born, with no hassle what so ever!

This morning I went to check the flock at 6 am and found three more lambs!!

Pictures are on there way of yesterdays lambs and I will take some of last nights and this mornings as well today and hopefully will have them on here very soon!!

i think you need to be checking market prices , lamb has gone silly this year thank f**k