Advice for a complete novice.

Hi,

First post on this site, i joined with an interest in dogs but browsing this section has got me really interested in hunting with an air rifle.

I have land with lots of rabbits on it available to me.

I am on a fairly remote Scottish island so cannot walk into a shop and try a lot of rifles.

So i am looking for help choosing a gun and wonder if some of you more experienced guys would able to answer some of my questions.

I have access to one fairly experienced chap currently he uses a very old Weihrauch but hasn't bought a gun for years so not a lot of help with a purchase.

My main quarry is going to be rabbit which i should be able to get relatively close too.

I don't want get something which will be useless or even limit me too much in enjoying the sport but at the same time no point in me owning more gear or technology than i am going to use.

So what do i definitely need, what would be nice and what would be overkill for me at this stage.

What should be my minimum spend to get a decent beginners gun and what should i not need to spend.

I need a gun, a bag what else is essential basic kit.

I am 6' 6" does this make a difference to what gun/ stock i choose, ie. comfort.

Would be happy for any information either criteria which my gun should meet or a couple of models which you would recommend.

If possible could you recommend some dealers who do mail order.

Any information will be much appreciated.

Thanks

Alan

Edited by northernsoul

2 questions..

do you want an spring powered (recommended for first air gun) or a pcp (have to fill up after every 60 odd shots)

also..

how much money are you willing to spend alltogether? including gun bag,scope,silencer (if you want one)

id be happy to try and help if you included that info :)

Hi Alan,